Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Waiting on Wednesday: Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton

Blood Magic by Tessa Gratton
Release date: May 24, 2011

This page-turning debut novel will entice fans who like their paranormal romances dark and disturbing. It's a natural next-read for fans of Stephenie Meyer, Carrie Jones, and Becca Fitzpatrick. But instead of mythical creatures, blood magic has everything to do with primal human desires like power, wealth, and immortality. Everywhere Silla Kennicott turns she sees blood. She can't stop thinking about her parents alleged murder-suicide. She is consumed by a book filled with spells that arrives mysteriously in the mail. The spells share one common ingredient: blood, and Silla is more than willing to cast a few. What's a little spilled blood if she can uncover the truth? And then there's Nick—the new guy at school who makes her pulse race. He has a few secrets of his own and is all too familiar with the lure of blood magic. Drawn together by a combination of fate and chemistry, Silla and Nick must find out who else in their small Missouri town knows their secret and will do anything to take the book and magic from Silla.
This cover is the perfect mixture of creepy and pretty. I do feel like the black and red color combo has been overdone lately, but otherwise it's really gorgeous.

I don't know much about this book, or the author. However, I understand that Gratton is a part of the Merry Sisters of Fate blog, which is run by herself, Maggie Stiefvater and Brena Yovanoff. I loved Shiver and The Replacement, so I think this one will work out well for me too. I'm eagerly awaiting my pre-ordered copy, and curious to see how others like this one, as I haven't seen many reviews yet.

What are you waiting on this Wednesday?

2 comments:

  1. Nice pick. Agreed on the red/black/white covers. Definitely over indulging that trend but still, the picture is rather eerie. Thanks for sharing!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Okay, I must admit the synopsis of this book doesn't draw me in - but the cover? Different story! I love it!

    Please check out my WoW here: http://samjaymc.blogspot.com/2011/04/waiting-on-wednesday-3.html

    ReplyDelete

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails

Ads Inside Post